Our Executive Committee consists of all of the SECIA officers and meets on the last Tuesday of every month to manage SECIA and plan monthly board meetings.


  • President – Ben Brummel
  • Vice President – Jim Nyberg
  • Secretary – Steve Peterson
  • Treasurer – Luke Nichols
  • At Large – Tom Weist


Mission: to improve housing and livability conditions, and to maintain and increase the number of homeowners and long term tenants in the Como Neighborhood

Committee Chair: Katie Fournier,


The Environment Committee has a long history of leading edge community projects such as the air pollution prevention project, Move In Move Out (our neighborhood recycling project), Solar pilot project, rain barrel building, rain gardens, community gardens, TCE advocacy and urban forestry. The committee usually meets the 4th Tuesday of every month, but the schedule sometimes changes. The SECIA calendar has the most updated information.

Co-Chair: Kathy Knudson, and Peggy Booth

Community Building

The committee seeks to build a more inclusive community and nurture mutually beneficial relationships among the members of the Southeast Como Neighborhood.

Chair: Jim Nyberg,

The Community Building Committee meets at Community Project Night on the third Tuesday of each month. Meetings are currently virtually and found on the SECIA calendar.


Our Safety Committee meets on an ad-hoc basis, but our residents can participate in a monthly meeting through the Second Precinct Advisory Council (2PAC)

Second Precinct Advisory Council

Contact: Emilie Quast,

SECIA’s Como Cares Team initiative is seeking new volunteer leadership as it continues to reimagine community safety by supporting our neighbors in need and creating a safer and more connected neighborhood.  To learn more, check out our Como Cares Page, or please email if you want to learn more, or get involved at any level.

Land Use & Development

Our new Land Use & Development Committee expects to meet monthly at 7:00 pm on the second Wednesday of the month.

Co-Chairs: DeWayne Townsend and Pat Eliason,

University District Alliance

The SE Como Improvement Association is a member of the University District Alliance, an alliance of the four neighborhoods adjacent to the UofM’s Minneapolis campus, the University itself, and the City of Minneapolis (as authorized by the Legislature), as well as several other community institutions and organizations.  Como’s representatives to the UDA board are

  • Katie Fournier
  • Jessica Focht-Perlberg